#THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

I just finished this book and wanted to write while the thoughts were still fresh in my mind. Now, I have read books for adults but I find the subjects of young adult fiction a little more interesting. I don’t know if that’s weird or creepy or maybe my brain level is that of a teenager, who knows? There’s no question as to why these books are widely successful. It’s because they have a lot of heart and it tells the story of damaged youth when there’s no one else there that wants to talk about it.

Anyways, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green focuses on Hazel, a cancer patient in her adolescence, struggling to be a normal kid and for once, finding someone who doesn’t take pity on her. Early on, she meets Augustus, also plagued by cancer, and the two fall in love. Most of the novel is about the couple and their adventures together, primarily their trip to Amsterdam to visit their favorite author and demand an ending to his unfinished book.

I don’t want to give too much away, but it does have a subtle twist that you kind of see coming but are still shocked when it happens. I don’t cry too easily so it wasn’t much of a tearjerker but I can see how it could rub someone the wrong way. It was also filled with words that I had to look up a couple of times. I’ll admit I do read novels geared towards teenagers but the style of writing appeals to everyone. I also like to see what all the hype is about. I’m not a typical romantic person, and I don’t know anyone with cancer but I could feel for these characters and you almost feel like you’re part of their world. It was a teenage romance novel but not in the cheesy sense. And I may have started following vlogbrothers on youtube (I didn’t put together that John Green was one half of this popular YouTube channel). I like the way he writes and I might have to read more books by him. Just because books are geared towards a younger generation doesn’t mean you should stray away from them. It’s like Luna Bars. Those are targeted towards women but I still eat them because I think they’re delicious. I may be a little embarrassed seeing this movie (because I always have to have movies ruin books for me), but I don’t think a book gave me “the feels” since A Begonia for Miss Applebaum. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is up there too.

 

Now I need something else to read! Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

