#THURSDAY TEN

10 Lyrics I Always Get Wrong

 

Here’s a list of ten songs where I honestly thought these were the real words and believed they made sense. It wasn’t until recently that it was pointed out to me that I was singing all these songs wrong for YEARS (how embarrassing). Sometimes I still use these words anyways ‘cause they’re more fun. Enjoy!

 

10. Kelly Clarkson’s “Since You’ve Been Gone”

Instead of “I’m so moving on, yeah yeah, thanks to you” I thought she said “The sum of it all…” Makes sense, right? To sum it up, I’m much better since you’ve been gone. Oh well. I’m so moving on from this one.

 

9. Edwin McCain’s “I’ll Be”

In my mind, he sang “And I’ll be your dragon soldier…” Doesn’t that sound manlier than a crying shoulder?

 

8. Bryan Adams’ “Heaven”

Through my understanding, I thought the song was about a pedophiliac homosexual. I thought he was thinking about how young he is instead of thinking about all the younger years. Anyhoo…

 

7. OMC’s “How Bizarre”

I don’t know ANYTHING he’s saying, but I seriously thought the main line was “Help is On.” Sounds like they’re a little lost, it’s nice to know help is on the way…

 

6. Carrie Underwood’s “Before He Cheats”

Carving your name into his legacy instead of leather seats leaves more of a mark in my opinion.

 

5. Of Monsters and Men’s “Little Talks”

This one is probably the most outlandish. I’m not sure what this song is about but I seriously thought they sang “Though the truth will carry this shit filled caviar.” I thought the song was nonsensical in and of itself, so they could get away with this ridiculous phrase. The real lyric is “’Cause though the truth may vary this ship will carry our bodies safe to shore” just in case you were wondering. The real one doesn’t make that much sense either.

 

4. Lifehouse’s “By Your Side”

I seriously think it sounds like “When all hope is died, I will still be aroused” instead of “around.” Doesn’t it make you feel better to know you make someone aroused just by being near you? Oh well.

 

3. Florence + the Machine’s “Shake It Out”

I always thought the first line said “Green ghouls collect like old friends” buttttt it’s actually “Regrets.” To be fair, “ghouls” is said somewhere later on in the song.

 

2. Daughtry’s “No Surprise”

I can’t even tell you what I thought these lyrics were because I don’t think I ever thought they were anything. I just kind of slurred a certain part and now I finally looked up what the heck he says. It’s “There’s nothing here in this heart left to borrow.”

 

1. Bruno Mars’ “Just the Way You Are”

I’m not sure what I was thinking here but the line “her laugh, her laugh she hates but I think it’s so sexy” didn’t register with me. I thought he said “She hates it up and gets so sexy” or something like that.

 

Listen to these songs and tell me I’m wrong!!

What should my next Thursday Ten topic be? Leave a comment!!

Leave a Reply

