#THURSDAY TEN

10 Words People Use to Describe Me

If I were to sum up my personality in ten words, these would be it. And these are all things people have said to me.

10. Quiet

Probably the first thing you notice is I hardly say anything. There’s a fine line between being shy and being quiet. I don’t think I’m shy because I’m not afraid to talk. I talk when I’m spoken to or when I have something fairly relevant to contribute to the conversation. The main reason why I’m not a big talker is nobody understands me when I talk because not only do I have a deep voice, I also mumble. If you can picture Barry White on a garbled cassette tape playing underwater, that’s my voice. At least that’s how I see myself when people look at me with a deadpan stare and shout “What?”

  1. Mean

Yes I’ve been called mean before. Not by many, but I attribute it to my lack of a filter. I’m brutally honest and I think it rubs people the wrong way. Oh you didn’t want someone to say your baby’s not that cute or you dress slutty? Well ‘scuse me for having eyes! 😀

  1. Selfish

I don’t share food, and it took a long time to even tell my wife how much was in my bank account. I’m just very weird about my possessions and wary about people getting their grubby fingers on my loot.

  1. Creative

Not everything people say about me is a bad thing. I’m not sure where I got it from but ever since I was little, I loved to make up games and stories, write, and draw. I like to think of myself as pretty inventive and imaginative and I hope my kid(s) will be able to use an imagination. Not every one has one, and it’s one of the greatest gifts you can get.

  1. Smart

I remember once in 4th grade, we had partners and someone got paired with me, and some other kid was like, “You’re lucky, you got a smart kid.” Nobody really helped me with my homework and I got by just fine. Now just think if I applied myself.

  1. Funny

I do like to make people laugh and when I DO talk, I can usually make someone giggle. Most of the time, I don’t try to be funny and I think that’s what makes me funny but I like laughing and making other people laugh ‘cause life’s too short to be depressed all the time.

4. Nice

Now how can someone be mean AND nice? It’s human nature. Sometimes you’ll catch me in a grumpy mood and I criticize everything about you and the world, but most of the time I’m in a good mood. I’ve been known to be considerate and respectful of other people.

  1. Tall

Maybe I only hang around short people, my wife included, but I’ve had to reach things from high shelves, duck under tree limbs, and even hit my head on the ceiling of cars. I’m not saying I’m insanely tall but it is a benefit to be at least a little tall.

  1. Weird

I’ve been called weird but I take it as a compliment. I know I’m weird and I accept it. I believe that nobody got anywhere by being ordinary.

  1. Reliable

You can usually count on me for something. I’m very trustworthy and have great follow through. Why do I feel like I’m in a job interview?

Leave a Reply

