#THURSDAYTEN

10 Apps I Use All the Time

I bet you were thinking this was going to be a resolution post, but it’s not for two reasons. A. I don’t usually keep my resolutions and B. I don’t have 10 of them. My resolutions for 2015 are the usual work out more, be healthy and happy, and you know, keep my newborn child alive. Anyways, moving on…

10. Facebook

I remember when Facebook was only for colleges and our college finally got added and you could add classes and see who was in your class so you could ask questions about what your teacher was talking about and this is a major run on sentence. Now everyone and their mothers (literally) is on FB and it’s basically how I get my news. It’s sort of an addiction especially since I don’t see a lot of the people on there in person everyday so I want to know what’s going on in their lives. And I’m sure they feel the same way about mine.

9. Shazam

So you hear a song, you like the song, but you don’t know what it’s called or who sings it? I remember you had to wait on the radio (you know in the olden times like…the early ’90s) ’til the very end to find out if they said it but for some reason radio hosts are pretty secretive with the names of songs. Anyways, now there’s an app that magically listens to a song (or even TV show) playing and tells you what it is. It even gives you the option to download the song through the app!

8. Merriam-Webster Dictionary

At one point, I wanted to be an author, and I still like to write and use this app everyday. I like learning new words and make sure I’m using them correctly.

7. Time-Suck Games

More importantly, games like Candy Crush, Words with Friends, and the newly discovered Diner Dash. These games (except maybe for Words) provide no real value, they’re just a new way to suck up all your time. I enjoy puzzle games ’cause at least that gets your brain working.

6. YouTube

Talk about a time suck. I can spend hours on YouTube watching music videos, or even watching my own videos ’cause I’m a little vain whatevs. I don’t understand how people on YouTube make millions of dollars by rolling out of bed, turning on a camera, and talking to themselves. Once I figure that out, it’ll be my next career move hah.

5. Instagram

I love looking at photos, mostly old photos, and it’s a way to look at people’s cute kids or pets without having to interact with them.

4. IMDB

It’s usually to figure out where I’ve seen that person before and it’s normally something embarrassing. But I like movies and TV shows and if I see a preview for something, I like to find out what it’s about, who’s in it, is it worth my time, etc.

3. Pinterest

I got roped into joining this but there’s actually some useful/funny shit on there that’s not just fashion tips or ways to turn a moldy banana into a beautiful Christmas wreath. It’s a good reference source and way to kill time if you’re at the doctor’s office or something.

2. Mobile Banking

The mobile app for my bank is pretty easy to use and I can actually deposit checks from it and with direct deposit I don’t even have to leave my house. Ah technology making us hermits one step at a time.

1. Tip Calculator

Very useful, especially when your major wasn’t math. 🙂

What are your favorite apps? Leave a comment!

8.

One response to “#THURSDAYTEN

Leave a Reply

