#THURSDAY TEN

10 “Daddy” Things I’m Excited About

With just a month to go before my son’s born, and my fears and worries mounting, I’m also thinking about the exciting stuff. So I feel like that a blog about things I’m most looking forward to about having a child would be a better read and save things like I hope my child doesn’t become a serial killer for a rainy day…

10. Putting Shit Together

manual

Contrary to what my wife might think, and certain expletives that arise when assembling, I actually do like putting stuff together. I think about the end result and realize it’s for the baby so I try to pay special attention to what I’m doing. Putting stuff together doesn’t always have to mean looking at a diagram with fifty letters and trying to figure out which screw is “A” and which one’s “J,” it could also mean helping put together Lego creations or building an army with GI Joes. Which brings us to the next item on the list…

9. Boys’ Toys are WAY Better!

If my son wants to play with dolls, that’s one thing but I hope to God he’s into Legos, Matchbox cars, and playing in the dirt. I always thought those sand tables were pretty cool.

sandtable

Tell me you wouldn’t want to play with this!

8. Watching Him Develop

I can’t wait to watch him grow and learn stuff. And also say sentences like “I love you Dad.” I also can’t wait to see what kind of person he’s going to grow up to be, and what kind of life he’ll lead. Hopefully it’s a good one.

7. Sharing Stories/Photos

I never thought I’d be one of those parents who makes their baby his Facebook profile picture, or be gushing over tiny socks. But I feel like I’m gonna be the Dad who shows people pictures of my baby whether they want to see or not, and share videos of my baby blinking his eyes. I’ve come to the conclusion that our conversations are now going to be centered about the baby and what his poop looks like. But I’m excited to share stories and photos because I’m selfish and I expect people to care about what I care about at that particular moment.

Speaking of starving children in Africa, look at this!

Funny-Baby-21

6. Bonding Time

Bonding is pretty important especially to the parent without the breasts, so I’m excited to try to connect with my child and hope to create a special bond. I’m not saying it’ll be like the male version of Gilmore Girls but I’d like my child to go to Daddy for some things.

dog-humor-funny-like-father-like-son

5. Vicariously Reliving My Childhood

I hope that in this age of computers and ipads, my son will still enjoy playing outside and being in the fresh air. As a child, I always enjoyed playing outside and being active. My nieces now are obsessed with technology and it drives me crazy. I want my child to experience exercise. Don’t get me wrong, the TV was my babysitter a lot of the time but having a child gives me an excuse to act out my youth and not have someone wonder why a grown man is playing hide and seek haha.

4. Looking at What I Created

Totally not in a creepy way. I can’t wait to see what he looks like and relish the fact that I’m actually a parent of this tiny person. I figure I’ll just catch myself looking at him when he’s sleeping or when I’m feeding him. I have very few things to be proud of in this life so once I get something to be proud of, I’m gonna revel in it.

3. Planning a Birthday

I know the stress of hosting something but I think planning a birthday party is going to be more fun. I expect it to be better when they get older and start to form opinions on something so you can have a theme. And there’s some awesome cakes out there.

cake1 cake2cake3 cake4

2. Activities

I think I’m just excited to do stuff with him like reading, grocery shopping, playing with him, going on road trips, etc.

1. Getting creative

pinterest

I’m excited to make some videos, create “year” books/posters, or do stuff with photos. You know that my sense of humor and sense of creativity won’t go unnoticed when a baby’s involved. Parenting should be a serious thing but it doesn’t have to be all serious all the time, and I’m sure he’ll like seeing that stuff when he’s older. I have no home videos but my wife does and I enjoy watching them and making fun of her haha.

Stay tuned next month for another Thursday Ten!

Leave a Reply

