10 Things I Miss About My Phone (John’s Hit List)

10 Things I Miss About My Phone

In light of a water related incident, I’m without a phone for a few days. I’ve never been too obsessed with the phone, but within these past few days, I realized I utilize a lot of things on it that make me feel so disconnected from the world. Pretty soon they’ll come up with an “Outside” app, if they didn’t already. So without further ado, in no particular order, are the things I use my phone for that have been difficult the past couple of days (aside from having nothing to look at on my break).

10. SHAZAM

Yes, I listen to the radio in the car. I’m always using Shazam to figure out what that song was I just rocked out to. Now I’m just in the dark and hope I can catch a lyric to look up the song later. Which brings me to:

9. LOOKING SHIT UP

With the convenience of apps, I was able to check my account balance, figure out where I know that actor from, and look up a word at the push of a button.

8. CALCULATOR

Using the calculator on the computer is pretty heinous.

7. CAMERA

There are many points during the day where I’ll want to take a picture and social media has made it easy for you to trick yourself into thinking people care. Now no one will be able to see my son blinking, or that meal I just made 😀

6. COMMUNICATING WITH MY WIFE

A lot of the times, my wife and I text each other throughout the day and it’s been hard since now we can’t get a hold of each other. Now I have to spend 8 hours not knowing how my son is, or miss knowing if I should take an alternate route to work.

5. CHECKING EMAIL

Right now, email’s really the only way to contact me and I can’t even check it on my phone. 😦

4. WEATHER

I normally check the weather app to see what I should wear for the day, but now I gotta roll the dice.

3. DATE AND TIME

My phone is basically my watch.

2. FACEBOOK

Facebook’s usually how I get my news (in the world, and with friends). Now I won’t know who died or what thing is currently offending people so I can have an ambivalent opinion!

1. AMAZON

It was nice to look up and/or purchase something at the push of a button, or update my wishlist. I actually just ordered goggles on my phone before it ironically fell in a pool.

Good thing my magazine came the same time I was sans phone, although it’s Men’s Health and that one just makes me feel bad about myself ;p

What could you not live without if your phone was incommunicado?

Leave a comment!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

